History of the National Basketball Association

Basketball Association of America (BAA) launched the first basketball season in 1946. In 1949, BAA agreed to join the National Basketball League for the NBA. Initially there were seventeen franchisees in the nation. However, in 1950, franchises were consolidated to eleven. In 1950, the NBA was integrated and accepted the first African American players. Chuck Cooper joined Boston Celtics, Nat "Sweetwater" Clifton joined the New York Knicks and Earl Lloyd joined the Washington Capitols. Minneapolis Lakers won the first NBA championship in 1950.

The NBA was the least in 1954 when there were only eight franchises, all eight of today. These are Knickerbockers, Celtics, Warriors, Lakers, Royals / Kings, Pistons, Hawks and Nationals / 76ers. In 1954, he saw the 24-second shooting hour to increase the game's tension.

The NBA was played in six teams in 1967, when it expanded by adding two teams. This expansion has led to the establishment of the American Basketball Association (ABA) for the purpose of binding the best cities. The following year, the semi-finals of the division changed to the seven best qualifiers. In 1975 and 1977 two additional teams were added. In 1976, the NBA entered into an agreement with the ABA, which gave the NBA four ABA franchises, thus increasing to 22.

The current sixteen team championships did not start until 1984. In the first round, they moved to the top five, to accommodate the new teams. There was not until 2003 the first round of the seven best of us. Over the past 2004-2005 season, the NBA has undergone further changes. There are currently thirty NBA franchises and the distribution structure has been rearranged. There are currently three teams, consisting of five teams.